In Flight Observation

by: the Common Constitutionalist

This is a departure from my usual political diatribe, but I thought I’d share it none-the-less. If it bores you, tough crap.

It’s early Sunday morning. My plane just took off from Ft Lauderdale, Fl., on my way back to New Hampshire.

We quickly get to our cruising altitude of approximately 35,000 feet . I’ve always preferred a window seat;  this time was no different.

I look out my window and see nothing but cloud cover. The earth below me is literally blanketed by clouds as far as the eye can see .  Yet strangely, they don’t look at all like clouds .

It appears as if we are flying over one of the polar regions .  If I didn’t know better, I’d swear we were suspended above a massive glacier.

The smooth glacial cloud cover was interrupted everywhere by what looked like large crevasses all pointing in one direction, as if cutting through a valley.

I’ve never been to or seen a glacier up close and personal. We have all seen them on various nature shows and what I was witnessing was eerily similar.

In  distance I view what appears to be a mountain range jutting out from the otherwise flat glacial landscape.

It was frankly mesmerizing, and I had to remind myself that these were merely cloud formations springing up from the cover.  If I didn’t know better, I couldn’t make that distinction.

I find myself just staring for several minutes at the mountain range suspended thousands of miles above the ground.

There are wisps of clouds moving rapidly up and over the mountain peaks as if it were snow being forced up the mountains by high winds.

I’ve also never flown over the Himalayas, but by the documentaries I’ve seen of Mount Everest expeditions , I imagine it is quite similar to what I am witnessing.

After several minutes, although it seemed a lot longer, my trance was interrupted by a break in the cloud cover.

There’s Atlantic, the coastline and intercoastal waterway.  That’s more like it.

When reflecting on what I just witnessed I can’t help but think of the dichotomy of two worlds, above and below the clouds.

What oddly came to mind was the final “Matrix” movie.  Two of the main characters are trying to reach this machine city in their flying contraption.

They are being chased by other flying contraptions trying to prevent them from reaching the city.  They are unable to shake their pursuers, at which point the main character, Neo, says if they are unable to outrun them, they must go over them.

They point their ship skyward. As they punch through the omnipresent cloud cover, they witness a brightly gleaming sun for the first time.

One says to the other, “It’s beautiful!”.

They’re right, it is.

About thecommonconstitutionalist

Brent is not a scholar. He’s not an author or speaker (yet). He hasn’t published a book nor does he write articles for magazines (yet). He has no advanced literary degree or pedigree (never will). He is just an American who writes and shares what interests him. He cares about the salvation of this country and a return to its Constitutional roots. He believes in God, country and family.
This entry was posted in Current Events, Fun Stuff, Travel & Adventure and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In Flight Observation

  1. Karen says:

    There is nothing boring about a few moments of serenity…

  2. that was really cool;poetry almost. it is a different world above the clouds.

Leave a Reply

