Thank You Mr. President

by: the Common Constitutionalist

As conservatives, how many times have we cringed when we hear his name? How many times have we quietly pondered or said aloud, “How did this guy get elected?”

Of course, I’m speaking of “The One”, our beloved leader, Barack Millhous Obama. (Props to Mark Levin for that one).

We’ve whined, moaned and generally complained about the president. We don’t understand (those of us that did our homework prior to 2008) how this guy could have fooled so many people.

I guess that’s not entirely accurate. I understand quite well why so many voted for him.

He is, after all, our second black president; Bill Clinton being dubbed the first by author Toni Morrison in 1998.

People were understandably swept up in the moment. They wanted to be a part of history. It didn’t matter who he was. Again, that’s not accurate. It did matter.

Jesse Jackson ran for president in the 80’s and lost in the democrat primary. His problem was that people knew he was a dirt bag, race pimp, even back then. He simply had too much baggage; was too well known.

Millhous was an absolutely unknown quantity. He was a blank slate. He could be anything the public wanted him to be.

He had not been on the national scene long enough for most to conclude that he was a radical. He simply didn’t have the history nationally; not like those who had been around for decades, such as Ted Kennedy, Barney Fwank, sheets Byrd, etc.

People could project upon him anything they wished. He was to be the first post-racial, post-partisan president. He was to be the great uniter. The rest of the world would finally love us.

Then there were The GWL’s, or guilty white liberals. They would finally have the opportunity to prove they were not racists and assuage their guilt after all these years. Halleluiah! Gaia be praised!

I recall, as if it were yesterday, when Rush Limbaugh proclaimed, “I hope he fails”. Oh how, not only the liberal press, but also the supposedly conservative media pilloried him. All the talking heads ganged up on him, calling him racist and a divider.

Upon agreeing with him, I too, was not the most popular person in my circle of friends and colleagues. Unlike those in the press and the talking heads on TV and radio, I knew exactly what Rush meant for I had done some homework on Obama prior to the election. Rush, of course, didn’t care about the man and didn’t care about his color. He simply wanted Obama’s policies to fail.

One only needed to take a quick look at his friends, confidants and colleagues to know who he was. Heck, he started his presidential campaign in the home of unrepentant terrorist Bill Ayers. How many people do that? Answer: none one.

All that being said, Barack Milhous Obama’s presidency may end up being one of the greatest blessings that this country has seen in decades.

Without him there would be no Tea Party. Without Obama there would be no, as I see it, conservative revolution.

We would have ended up with another George Bush, in John McCain, the republican, big government progressive. We would have stayed asleep as more and more of our liberties were slowly strpped from us. McCain would have placed the frog (us) in cold water and turned up the heat. Obama had just decided to toss us (the frogs) into a pot of already boiling water, which shocked us from our slumber.

I can only speak for myself, but I have learned more about the history of this great nation in the past few years then I learned in all the previous.

I guess I should thank the president for that.

It is doubtful that without Obama I would not have done all that I have in such a short period of time, if ever. I’ve read the Federalist papers, studied the Constitution and the Declaration of Independence. I know more about our founding fathers that I could have dreamed. I studied and now understand the evil of progressives and the progressive era.

In short, like most Americans, I was asleep most of my life.  It’s a shame that it took this to shake me into consciousness. Although I am speaking for myself, I’m quite sure that I simply echo the sentiments of millions of Americans.

In closing I would like to thank president Barack Milhous Obama for making me a better citizen, but only if he loses this next election. If he wins reelection we are all doomed anyway.

About thecommonconstitutionalist

Brent is not a scholar. He’s not an author or speaker (yet). He hasn’t published a book nor does he write articles for magazines (yet). He has no advanced literary degree or pedigree (never will). He is just an American who writes and shares what interests him. He cares about the salvation of this country and a return to its Constitutional roots. He believes in God, country and family.
This entry was posted in Faith & Religion, History, Political Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thank You Mr. President

  1. hear,hear! so very well put. one other point: he was an unknown,but if the msm hadn’t abdicated their responsibility and thoroughly vetted him ( heck,just a little vetting;something) ,he might not have made it in. he owes them big time.

Leave a Reply

